PTSD Sucks

“That Damn Shirt”

I saw a t-shirt
Lying in a Goodwill bin
I picked it up
And froze for a moment
My fingers unable to move as a memory came flooding back
Him in a shirt like that
I threw the repulsive shirt down
And froze again
As the muscles in my back starting convulsing
Difficult places along my spine started crimping
Remembering blows he had dealt to me
Pain still fresh
Undimmed by time

Moments passed
I realized I was still in the store
Forced myself to take a deep breath
And walked away
Trying to remember to keep breathing

3 thoughts on “PTSD Sucks

Leave a Reply

