A Plea Bargain for the Chiropractor

Some bargain

They traded my daughter for me

     The punishment is the same, they claimed

     Three to fifteen locked up behind bars

But now there’s no record of my daughter’s scars

How is this fair? I asked them

     It’s easier this way, they told me.  

But then he’s only held accountable for one crime

What about the other fourteen women who wish to testify?

Those who came forward after the evening news report?

And what about my fourteen year old daughter?

Why doesn’t he have to pay for what he’s done to any of them?

     The punishment is the same, they explained

      Three to fifteen locked up behind bars.   

But why am I the one listed on those court papers on the table?

Why am I the one he’s pleading guilty to?

My daughter is the one who should be listed, not me

     Look, they explained, he doesn’t want locked up as a child molester

     He refuses to plead guilty to charges that make him look like a monster.

Why does it matter what he wants?!? I demanded

Because the punishment is the same, they patiently explained,

     And a plea agreement avoids a jury trial,

     This is easier for you and your daughter.

But that was back in 2008.

The chiropractor spent 4 ½ years behind bars.

Upon his release, he was deported to Mexico,

Returned to his homeland, stripped of his doctor’s license.

And none of this will ever be any easier for me and my daughter.

Leave a Reply

