You Shouldn’t Love Me

You love me
But you shouldn’t
I’ll love you right back
Love you so passionately
And loudly
That everything else will dim
Food will taste sweeter
Sunrises will sparkle
Sunsets burn brighter
Flowers, birds, clouds
They will all be seared
Into your consciousness
Every leaf will remind you of me
As you float through a fog
Of being in love

But I will leave
I cannot stay
In one place
Or I’d wither
Like the leaves in my wake

I’ll leave and
Your days will turn gray
You’ll wish we’d never met
If only to see the sun smile at you once again
But you will still love me
From afar
And I’ll be smiling
At someone new

Leave a Reply

